External Advisory Board

U-M BME’s External Advisory Board (BME EAB) is a distinguished group of alumni and friends

The EAB’s members are committed to BME’s goal of solving important challenges in medicine and the life sciences for the benefit of humanity.

BME EAB provides advice and support on key departmental priorities including: the student experience, research excellence, clinical translation, diversity, and alumni and industry engagement and meets bi-annually to discuss strategic priorites and opportunities for BME at Michigan.

Links featured connect to our EAB members’ LinkedIn pages.

* Denotes U-M Alum.

External Advisory Board 2023-2024

Samuel Achilefu, Ph.D.

Professor and Lyda Hill Distinguished University Chair in Biomedical Engineering, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center

Victoria Augustine, MSE

Acting Director, Office of Patent Automation (OPA), USPTO; Supervisory Patent Examiner, United States Patent and Trademark Office, USPTO

Robert DeRyke, M.B.A.

President and CEO, Terumo Cardiovascular Group Executive Officer, Terumo Corporation

Caroline Dugopolski, M.S.*

VP of Program Management, Quality and Technical Operations, Cellino

David Knapp, Ph.D.*

Vice President R&D, Vascular, Boston Scientific; President, Boston Scientific Foundation

Scott Merz, Ph.D.*

President and CEO, MC3 Cardiopulmonary

Aftin Ross, Ph.D.*

Deputy Director, Office of Readiness and Response, Office of Strategic Partnerships & Technology Innovation, CDRH

Jason Weidman, M.B.A.*

SVP and President, Coronary & Renal Denervation, Medtronic

Erin West Farrell, Ph.D.*

Director, Toxins Strategic Projects, AbbVie

Desmond Yeo, Ph.D.*

Technology Manager, MRI & Superconducting Magnets, Technology & Innovation Center (R&D), GE Healthcare