Reporting Concerns and Misconduct

MAINTAINING RESPECT AND INTEGRITY

BME strives for a community built on respect and integrity. Actions against those values do not only hurt our community members, but weaken our community and what we can achieve as a whole. While we respect the choices of those who encounter misconduct, we hope everyone feels comfortable pointing out instances of wrongdoing without fear of retaliation.

If you encounter inappropriate behavior or misconduct, or if you are unsure if you have experienced such behavior, there are resources and contacts available for you.

Before you report, you must decide if you would like to keep your initial conversation confidential. Some contacts are required to officially share your report and others may keep your conversation confidential.

Those who are required to report your concerns of prohibited behavior involving sexual assault, sexual or gender-based, intimate partner violence, stalking, or retaliation related to reports of any of the above concerns, are called Individuals with Reporting Obligations (IROs). Individuals with Reporting Obligations (IROs) can also help you to make a report yourself.

If you want to maintain confidentiality, or are uncertain whether you want to have a formal complaint filed, your first action might be to contact those who are not considered IROs. Confidential employees can also help you make a report if you decide you wish to do so.

U-M Guidelines for Conduct

Standard Practice Guide
Official repository for the institution-wide policies and procedures of the University of Michigan, maintained to guide and direct the university community.

Standard Practice Guide Policies – Sexual Harassment
U-M definition and policy regarding sexual harassment.

Standard Practice Guide Policies – Discrimination & Harassment
U-M definition and policy regarding discrimination and harassment.

Student Sexual Misconduct Policy
U-M policy & procedures on student sexual & gender-based misconduct & other forms of interpersonal violence.

There are several ways to report your concerns:

Submit a report to the department (if you wish to remain anonymous DO NOT submit your name)

NOTE: This form is read by BME Department Administrator Ann Smith, Senior Associate Chair, David Sept, and Department Chair, Lonnie Shea. All three are Individuals with Reporting Obligations, so if your report meets the criteria for reporting it will be submitted for further review either anonymously or with your name if provided.

To maintain confidentiality or get advice

You are encouraged to discuss your concerns with one of the individuals listed below who is not mandated to share information if you are unsure of what to do. Those who can guarantee confidentiality include:

To report concerns to the university

To report concerns of sexual assault, stalking, intimate partner violence, sexual or gender-based harassment, other forms of discrimination including discriminatory harassment under the University’s Nondiscrimination Statement:

Office for Institutional Equity (OIE)
Call: 734-763-0235
Email: institutional.equity@umich.edu
Submit online: oie.umich.edu/
In-person: 2072 Administrative Services Building, 1009 Greene Street

You may also report concerns to OIE and learn more about the University’s policies and available resources, at sexualmisconduct.umich.edu.

To report concerns of possible criminal conduct:
Division of Public Safety & Security (DPSS), including UMPD
Call: 911, or for non-emergencies, (734) 763-1131
Text: 377911
Email: dpss-safety-security@umich.edu
In-person: Campus Safety Services Building, 1239 Kipke Drive

Individuals with Reporting Obligations (IROs)

Be aware that if you share information with the following contacts, considered Individuals with Reporting Obligations (IROs), they are mandated to share information they receive about any prohibited conduct with the Office of Institutional Equity (OIE), and you will likely be contacted by OIE for more information regarding your concerns and to make you aware of your options.

In BME, IROs that must report any misconduct include, but may not be limited to:

NameRoleEmailPhone
Lonnie SheaDepartment Chairldshea@umich.edu(734) 647-6319
David SeptSr. Associate Department Chairdsept@umich.edu(734) 615-9587
Tim BrunsGraduate Program Chairbruns@umich.edu(734) 647-8727
Rachael SchmedlenUndergraduate Program Chairshope@umich.edu(734) 763-0575
Jan StegemannMasters Program Chairjpsteg@umich.edu(734) 764 8313
Tareta JohnsonResearch Process Managerjtareta@umich.edu(734) 615-9404
Alan PhlipotResearch Process Manageraphlipot@umich.edu(734) 936-6638
Rachel PattersonUndergraduate/SUGS Advisor/Counselorrjpatt@umich.edu(734) 763-5290
Maria SteeleGraduate Coordinatormsteele@umich.edu(734) 647-1091
Ann SmithChief Department Administratorannsmith@umich.edu(734) 764-4569
Jennifer ReigerHR Generalistjreiger@umich.edu(734) 615-6971
Thomas MartenManaging Director – Coulter Programtmarten@umich.edu(734) 647-1680

Outside of BME, those that must report any misconduct include: