Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion

Our department is committed to creating and sustaining a community that values diversity and champions equity and inclusion. 

With the word Diversity, we mean all of the values and experiences that come from a multitude of cultures and experiences, including, but not restricted to, differences in race, ethnicity, age, gender and gender identity, language, religion, sexual orientation, ability or disability, and socioeconomic status.

By Equity, we are referring to the unbiased treatment of all individuals, and the promise of fair and equal access to all opportunities and resources, removing any barriers that may exist for marginalized groups.

Inclusion to us means welcoming, respecting and supporting all views and opinions, and ensuring that all individuals feel they belong.

Biomedical Engineering Diversity, Equity and Inclusion (DEI) Committee

DEI Action Plan

The BME department leadership, DEI committee, and community members have developed and collaborated on a plan that includes concrete actions to guide the department toward a more diverse, equitable, and inclusive state:

View the latest version of the BME DEI Plan (Draft V.2. – 06/26/2020)

At this time, the committee asks the BME community to continue to provide feedback and ideas related to DEI in the department, as well as specific feedback on the draft plan. Please email the BME-DEI-committee@umich.edu with your feedback, ideas, and suggestions.

DEI Committee Members

NameEmailPosition
Carlos Aguilarcaguilar@umich.eduAssistant Professor
Brandon Baierbbaier@umich.eduCommunications and Marketing Manager
Aaron Blanchardatblanc@umich.eduAssistant Professor/Postdoctoral Scholar
Noah Blasenblase@umich.eduUndergraduate Student
Kostas Boutsikakiskboutsik@umich.eduFinancial or Business Analyst
Belinda Cargilecargileb@umich.eduUndergraduate Student
Karen Gateskagates@umich.eduAlumni, Development, and Industry Relations
Saumya Guptasaugupta@umich.eduMasters Student
Aaron Morrisaharmorr@umich.eduResearch Fellow
Deepak Nagrathdnagrath@umich.eduAssociate Professor
Ritika Pansarerpansare@umich.eduUndergraduate Student
Parag Patilpgpatil@umich.eduAssociate Professor
Rachel Pattersonrjpatt@umich.eduAcademic Advisor/Counselor
Jenny Ququyunjia@umich.eduMasters Student
Eiji Saitoesaito@umich.eduResearch Area Specialist Assoc
Ian Schrackischrack@umich.eduPhD Student
David Sept (Chair)dsept@umich.eduProfessor and Associate Chair
Lonnie Shealdshea@umich.eduProfessor
Ann Smithannsmith@umich.eduBME Department Administrator
Tonya Thompsontyb@umich.eduSenior Administrative Assistant
Christopher Tossastossas@umich.eduPhD Student
James Weilandweiland@umich.eduProfessor
Tejaswi Worlikarwtejaswi@umich.eduPhD Student
Melissa Wrobelmwrobs@umich.eduLecturer III
Samantha Zerafasamzer@umich.eduUndergraduate Student

Resources

For Students

For Faculty & Staff

For Everyone

Education